Airtel and Jio roaming vs a travel eSIM
Your own Airtel or Jio SIM is the zero-setup option, and it has one real edge: your number keeps working. This page compares it with a Tripmojo eSIM on the same five rows, without quoting roaming prices.
Head to head: Tripmojo and Airtel and Jio roaming
| What matters | Tripmojo | Airtel/Jio roaming | What we found |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pay in rupees, by UPIAvoids your bank's forex markup on dollar prices | Yes: ₹ + UPI | Yes: On your bill | Airalo's currency list has no rupee and its payment list has no UPI; Nomad takes cards, Apple/Google Pay and PayPal. A dollar price on an Indian card usually picks up your bank's forex markup. |
| Refund if your phone is lockedThe most common reason an eSIM won't install | Yes: Full refund | Not stated: n/a | A carrier-locked phone is the most common reason a travel eSIM won't install. Matrix's policy says no refund for an incompatible handset; Saily refunds only plans that were never activated, within 30 days. Matrix refundsSaily refundsNomad install-failTripmojo refunds |
| Refund if it never connectsIf it installs but never gets signal | Yes: Full refund | Not stated: n/a | Airalo refunds an eSIM that isn't working to your original payment method. Nomad wants proof the fault was theirs; Matrix's window is five days from purchase. Ours runs for the plan's whole validity. |
| Days start when you landNo days used while you wait at home | Yes: First connection | Yes: On arrival | Airalo starts most plans on first connection but some on install, so check each plan's policy. Saily auto-activates an unused plan after 180 days. |
| No ID upload to buyQR right after payment | Yes: None | Yes: Existing SIM | Matrix sends the QR within about four hours, after you email a passport copy. Ours shows on screen as soon as you pay. |
Checked on each provider's own pages on 27 October 2026. Policies change. ‘Not stated’ means we couldn't find it on their site, not that they don't do it.
Where Airtel and Jio roaming does well
- You keep your own number, so calls and OTPs reach you directly, billed to your existing account. Airtel UAE pack
Other facts we checked
- Airtel's UAE pack validity runs 30 days from arrival. Airtel UAE pack
Questions about Tripmojo vs Airtel and Jio roaming
Will my bank OTPs still reach me with a travel eSIM?
Yes, if you keep your Indian SIM in the phone. A Tripmojo eSIM is data-only, so it handles data while your Indian SIM stays registered for OTPs and WhatsApp.
What is the advantage of roaming on my own number?
Calls and OTPs reach you directly and the usage is billed to your existing Airtel or Jio account, with nothing to set up.
When does an Airtel roaming pack start?
For the UAE pack we checked, validity runs 30 days from arrival. A Tripmojo plan starts at first connection abroad.
Do I need ID or KYC for a Tripmojo eSIM?
No ID upload. You pay in rupees by UPI, Indian card or netbanking and the QR shows on screen in about 2 minutes.
How will I know when my data is running low?
The Tripmojo app sends push alerts at 50% and 80% data used.
Ready to pick a plan?
Rupee pricing, UPI, and a QR on screen in about 2 minutes.
